New to 1Password — cloud security & data recovery questions

Options
bjspiers
bjspiers
Community Member
edited April 2014 in Mac

Hi, I'm quite new to 1PW, I currently have it on all my 3 apple devices (mac, iphone and ipad). At the moment, I have all my email and forum passwords running on 1PW and it's all working great. However, I have not put any of my bank accounts on yet as I am a proverbial doubter!!

I have read a few posts on here where peoples information on 1PW has 'vanished' for whatever reason, now if this happens with 16 character passwords and changed usernames (that I could never remember) it would be the most painful situation trying to renew passwords on several bank accounts where log on information has changed beyond recognition.

I would be very grateful if someone at Agilebits could put my mind at rest and answer the following questions:

1. I'm using the icloud to sync, is any of my 1PW information available on the internet or is it just on my devices and nowhere else?

2. If, like some have stated on here, all my 1PW information vanishes, can it be recovered and how easy is this to do?

Really sorry if I sound like a real doubter, but I have always kept my bank account information safe and secure and putting all my eggs in one basket really goes against the grain!!

Barry

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options

I'm sure someone from AgileBits will chime in as you request so please forgive my intrusion. :)

1. Your iCloud data wanders off into Apple's servers, of course. However, nobody can access your 1P4 data without knowing your master password. The data on the Apple servers is encrypted by a key generated from your master password.
    2. 1P4 automatically creates backups on your machine (and, of course, you regularly back up your machine as well :) ) and you can always restore from one of those backups if the unthinkable happens.