To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Master Password change

AndrejGieci
AndrejGieci
Community Member

Hi,

I'm completely new to 1password. I created account a month ago, but I forgot may Master password. I have emergency kit but Master passwords is not filled out in there.
How can I change my Master password?
If not possible, can I reset my account? (there was not password stored so no big loss)

Thank you

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @AndrejGieci,

Unfortunately there's no way to reset a lost Master Password unless you're in a family/team/business where someone else on the team can recover your account.

You can delete your account and start over though. To do that, go to https://my.1password.com/support and put in your email address. You'll be emailed a link that you can click to open up a page that will give you options, one of which is to delete the account.

Rick

• AndrejGieci
    AndrejGieci
    Community Member

Hi,

All it says is that I'm part of a business account and part of my Secret Key. But there is no option to delete my account

• @AndrejGieci

If your account is part of a business membership then your company's IT team would likely be a good place to start.

Ben

• AndrejGieci
    AndrejGieci
    Community Member

and they just did. thank you very much

• Perfect. Let us know if there's anything else we can help with.

Rick

• jm200p
    jm200p
    Community Member

I am in the same position as AndrejGieci except that I have an individual account. My master password is not being accepted online (i.e., Safari) and in the app on my Mac. If I delete my account, can I still use my account key and create a new master password? Please advise. TIA
    Jurij

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni