Issues retrieving iCloud passwords using converter guide

Options
JJ77
JJ77
Community Member

Hello,

I am new to 1Password, and I have been trying to use the post: https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/30286/mrcs-convert-to-1password-utility-mrc-converter-suite , but I have so far been unsuccessful. The script correctly enters the password, but with every attempt I get the error message "The contents of this item cannot be retrieved". I am using MacOS Mojave 10.14.6 (latest version). Is anyone aware of either issues with this version of MacOS or of possible errors I could have made?

Any help, thoughts, or comments are appreciated.

Thank you.

1Password Version: 7.3.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.14.6
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @JJ77! Welcome to the forum!

I think this is something that @MrC can help with :)

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

@JJ77 ,

I’ll take a look on Sunday.

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

@JJ77 ,

I've placed a testing version of Get_Safari12_Passwords into the Custom area of the converter suite location, which is here.

Can you give this a try?

I've noticed that Safari 13 has annoying bug whereby it can randomly lock the passwords area of the preferences dialog while you are using it, and of course, this will thwart the export script.

• JJ77
    JJ77
    Community Member
    Options

Thank you for the reply. So try the Safari and don't try the iCloud for now?

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    edited September 2019
    Options

@JJ77

Correct, use the Get_Safari12_Passwords applescript I posted in Custom for you to test out. The old method of using Keychain Access hasn't worked in a while.

Here's a video that shows how it works.

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

@JJ77

Just checking in. How did the export + conversion work for you? I'm here if you need more assistance.

• JJ77
    JJ77