Fill login keyboard shortcut and another new user questions

Hi- I'm brand new to 1Password. I've been using LastPass for the past several years and have decided to give 1Password a shot. I have a few questions. For reference, I am using macOS Mojave and Firefox.

1. When I went through the guides and YouTube videos on how to use 1Password, it said to use Cmd+\ to fill login. This does not work, and I cannot see anywhere in in the 1Password X settings to configure keyboard shortcuts.
  2. What am I meant to use with Firefox, 1Password X or the extension for the 1Password app? I find this very confusing.
  3. Is there a keyboard shortcut to fill forms with specific data / credit cards? In LastPass I can select a default profile (name, address, credit card, etc.) and then use a keyboard shortcut to fill a form with that information. Is there not a similar feature and keyboard shortcut?

Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• plttn
    plttn
    Community Member

So 1Password X can run completely independently of 1Password on the desktop and doesn't integrate with the desktop app at all (pending the new desktop app integration available in beta but that's not the point).

The 1Password extension for Firefox appears to be only available to download from Agilebits (here). 1Password X however exists as a connection straight to your 1Password account, rather than connecting to the desktop application.

They do different things somewhat, but I prefer 1Password X to the desktop connecting extension. On new sites, X will suggest passwords automatically, supports autofilling on multi-step sites (Google login for example).

The keyboard shortcut to pop up X is probably going to be cmd+shift+x.

• kaitlyn
    kaitlyn
    1Password Alumni

Hey @kalleskaviar! Thanks for asking. @plttn is pretty much spot on (thank you for that, @plttn), but I'll add my thoughts as well.