Secret key: how to find/recover it?

Options
mcs1728
mcs1728
Community Member

I am running macOS Mojave 10.14.6 and 1Password 6.8.9. I recently cleared my cache and rebooted, and am now unable to use the Safari/Chrome 1Password extension because it asks for my secret key and I do not know what this is. I have tried following the instructions to recover it via the website, ap & emergency kit but every time I just get returned to the sign in screen which asks for my secret key. I am puzzled by this because I have been using the ap for many years on multiple devices and have never had this problem before.

1Password Version: 6.8.9
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS Mojave 10.14.6
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @mcs1728!

I am puzzled by this because I have been using the ap for many years on multiple devices and have never had this problem before.

Only 1Password subscribers have a Secret Key. If you bought a standalone license in the past, you don't have a Secret Key, and from what you wrote, I think you might not have a subscription to 1Password. Can you confirm?

• mcs1728
    mcs1728
    Community Member
    Options

Yes, that's correct. I bought a stand alone license and do not have a subscription.

• mcs1728
    mcs1728
    Community Member
    Options

So do I now need to buy a subscription to be able to use the Internet browser extensions?

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@mcs1728:

So do I now need to buy a subscription to be able to use the Internet browser extensions?

No, just make sure you download the companion browser extension though. From what you wrote, it sounds like you might have downloaded 1Password X, which is our latest extension that is only available to 1Password subscribers. That one requires a Secret Key to use, so it's possible you might have simply downloaded the wrong one.

• mcs1728
    mcs1728
    Community Member
    Options