Why does the 1Password MacOS Safari Extension take 14 bounces to load when Chrome only takes 3?

Options
JimmyMtl
JimmyMtl
Community Member
edited July 2020 in Mac

I've been finding Safari slow to load for the past year. Today I finally made time to discover why.
After backing up the system and making a TM snapshot, I've cleaned out history, caches, autofills, cookies, and disabled every extension.
Restart.
Safari loads in 2 bounces. Quit. Relaunch - still 2 bounces.
Enable the 1Password extension. Safari now takes 14 bounces to load. Quit. Relaunch - still 14 bounces.
Even with restart. Even with disk utility verification and 256gb free on an SSD and no other apps running.
The Chrome with 1Password extension loads in 3 bounces.

Notes: since I have a 1Password family subscription, I believe the syncing is via 1Password.com but my old standalone library may still be using dropbox. I'm open to changing sync, archiving vaults, almost anything to make Safari work again, except upgrading to 10.15+.

1Password Version: 7.6
Extension Version: 7.6
OS Version: 10.14.6
Sync Type: Dropbox
Referrer: forum-search:safari extension slow

Comments

• Ben
    Options

Hi @JimmyMtl

I'm sorry to hear 1Password seems to be slowing down the launch of Safari for you. For reference: on my 2018 MacBook Air running macOS 10.15.5, Safari 13.1.1, and 1Password 7.6, Safari's window is visible after 1 bounce of the dock icon (roughly 1.5s). I am using a 1Password membership instead of Dropbox but I'd be surprised if that were the difference here. To be clear: you're seeing this incredible lag even when 1Password is the only extension enabled in Safari?

Could you please let me know what version of Safari you have installed?

I'm open to changing sync, archiving vaults, almost anything to make Safari work again, except upgrading to 10.15+.

Just to satisfy my own curiosity, would you mind sharing why that isn't an option?

Thanks.

Ben

• JimmyMtl
    JimmyMtl
    Community Member
    Options