Browser extensions go missing after 1Password app is updated

Options
tom_h
tom_h
Community Member

I am using a Mac, and for the last few versions (sorry, I don't remember exactly when it started) I noticed that the browser extensions seem to go missing after the 1Password app is updated. The only way I can get them back is to restart the computer. This has happened in Firefox, Safari, and Chrome. Is this a known issue? I don't remember this happening before, and I have been using 1Password for several years. I have seen the same behavior in Mojave, and Catalina (2 different computers - 1 has Mojave, the other Catalina).

The specs for my current computer are:
Macbook Pro 2019
MacOS Catalina 10.15.5
1Password 7.6 (Mac App Store)
Firefox Extension 4.7.5.90

Any information you can give is appreciated.

Thanks.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:browser extensions go missing after update

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @tom_h!

When you say that they go missing, do you mean that the icon disappears in your browser, or that the extensions are completely removed from your browser, so you have to install them again?

• tom_h
    tom_h
    Community Member
    Options

The icon is there, but disabled. When I use the shortcut CMD + \, I see a message that says "Install the 1Password extension ..."

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@tom_h:

Thank you for the screenshot! Some updates might cause the extensions to become temporarily disabled, but rebooting should not be necessary. If this happens again to you, can you please try quitting 1Password completely (right-click on 1Password mini in the menu bar at the top right of your screen > Quit 1Password Completely), and then relaunch 1Password?