1P4 and QUC

elvaen
elvaen
Community Member
This is in response to a dialog started on twitter:

I have a long, ~40-char, master password which is fine when using two hands on a full keyboard for the desktop/browser clients, but much less useable on an iphone keyboard.

I'm trying to make the quick-unlock feature work for me, but so far my experience has been that just a couple hours after closing the app and returning it to it I'm back to entering my full master password again. I'm using an iPhone 4S with 64 GB flash drive. I am a moderate user of my phone, but so far in all my testing I'm really not doing anything other than checking email between 1password sessions, and I wouldn't think that's nearly enough to exhaust the memory and force iOS to close the app for resource reasons.

I really appreciated the "short master password" in 1P3. I think I would be happy with the QUC in 1P4 if it would last longer. The rest of the app is a great improvement, but typing (and typoing a 40-char master password a half-dozen times) every time I want to use the iphone client fairly thoroughly sours the experience.

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    I'm sorry you're having some trouble with the Quick Unlock Code. That sounds very strange. I completely understand your frustration.

There is a bug at the moment which forces a prompt for the master password if the Auto-Lock timeout elapses, but that shouldn't apply in your case since you said you have the Auto-Lock time set to "never." I just want to be extra sure that that is the case since that bug would be a pretty simple explanation for what you are seeing.
  • elvaen
    elvaen
    Community Member
    Yes, confirmed, here are my settings:

"auto-lock" is set to never.
    "quick unlock code" is on.
    "Lock on exit" is on.