Question on Master Password Strength

Options
SDD
SDD
Community Member

Apologies if this has been answered before, but after a brief search I haven’t been able to find an answer. I have a question about master password strength that I’m hoping can be answered. I’ll use examples to better illustrate:

Password 1: X8h+

This is obviously not a strong password, but it does contain the basic “building blocks” that we’re all taught should be used in a password – an upper case letter, a lower case letter, a number, and a symbol. Now, let’s iterate that password five times, giving us:

Password 2: X8h+X8h+X8h+X8h+X8h+

This now gives me a 20-character password, which is a step in the right direction. Now, for comparison purposes, let’s look at a “truly random” 20 character password:

Password 3: CE{74xR?:/Dy49Q]mp3k

In order to have an “apples to apples” comparison, I’ve given Password 3 the same characteristics of Password 2 – that is, 5 upper case letters, 5 lower case letters, 5 numbers, and 5 symbols.

So here’s my question: how much stronger is Password 3 than Password 2?

The advantage of Password 2 is that it’s relatively easy to remember - only 4 characters need to be memorized (along with remembering to iterate it 5 times). But I still (hopefully) get the security inherent in a 20-character password.

Taking the above examples out of the equation, my question can be asked like this: is starting with a small(ish) password and then iterating it two or more times an acceptable / wise practice for creating a strong master password? This could apply to iterating a 5-character password 4 times, a 6-character password 3 times, or any other combination of n-character passwords iterated x times.

Thanks in advance for any insight you may have.

Comments

• laminwd
    laminwd
    Community Member
    Options

Interesting question... I am waiting for the answer too.

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    edited April 2013
    Options