Randomizing Password Length - Worth It?

Options
Ledgem
Ledgem
Community Member

I'm not a security expert by any stretch, but a thought occurred to me recently that I wanted to run by people with more understanding.

When it comes to password cracking, the more information you can provide about the password, the easier the password is to crack. Randomizing characters and expanding the character set makes the guesswork difficult, but there's another unknown factor to the password cracker: the password length. A longer password is obviously more difficult to crack than a shorter password, but a long password of unknown length is harder to crack than a long password of known length. The reason is that if you know that a password is 30 characters in length, you can skip all of the password combinations that were shorter than 30 characters.

This may also be a bit of a philosophical or situational issue to consider. If your account information just happens to be a part of a website breach then it's unlikely that an attacker will be brute-forcing with the assumption that everyone has the same password length. In that case, going for the longest password possible is ideal. On the other hand, if you're specifically being targeted then having a long password of unknown length (say, somewhere between 30-50 characters, with the exact number being unknown) would be stronger than simply setting the password generator to 50 each time.

Is there any merit to this idea? Would security be improved if 1Password were to make the password length randomized, as well?

Comments

• jpgoldberg
    jpgoldberg
    1Password Alumni
    edited June 2014
    Options

This is a great observation, @Ledgem‌!

All other things being equal, keeping the length secret would add to the
    strength, but it turns out that when you do the math, the gain from the kind of
    scheme you suggest would be small in comparison to the disadvantages.