1Password for iOS 6 and iOS 7 [Available in Updates > Purchases for those who already purchased]

Options
13»

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @aawevers‌

Thanks so much for adding your thoughts here! I'll be sure to pass them along to our developers.

But as the app for iOS8 is offered for free, what is keeping you from making the IPA file of the old version available to your (potential) customers so they can install it themselves via iTunes?

There are a lot of complications to this suggestion. Because I'm not a developer, I don't quite understand all the ins and outs, but it is something that we have considered and have had to reject.

I can completely understand that you're not willing to purchase a new phone for one bit of software - that does seem a bit extreme. :) When you do get your hands on an iOS 8 compatible device though, we'd be thrilled to help you get set up with 1Password!

• SallyShears
    SallyShears
    Community Member
    Options

Megan, thanks for your presence here. Earlier this tidbit was posted. Can you please get an executive response from Agilebits to the point made here. Apple says it's up to the developer, you say Apple won't allow you. Somewhere out there lies the true state of affairs.

According to the apple page linked to in this thread:

"If a compatible version isn't available, you can try contacting the app developer. Look for contact information on the app's product page in the App Store or Mac App Store."

• Wraithe
    Wraithe
    Community Member
    Options

So, I figured this out as I was reading the first page, so I'm relaying the "How To" along to help others.

If you haven't already installed/downloaded 1Password for iOS, and you're running a pre iOS 8 device:

1. Launch iTunes on your Mac (I assume this will work on Windows, but didn't try it).
    2. Go to "App Store" tab in iTunes.
    3. Find and "purchase" 1Password. This will be the iOS 8 version (Version 5, I guess).