1password on USB

jpartain89
jpartain89
Community Member

There should be a 1password system that can work through a USB key, or Bluetooth system, or something similar.

For the USB key, it can act like the HTML file that is inside of Dropbox, but will give all of the editing powers of the full Dropbox on any other platform.

For the Bluetooth system, it could use an extension in chrome/Firefox/IE/Safari that would read login tokens from our mobile devices.

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @jpartain89‌

Thanks so much for letting us know that you're interested in something like this!

Now, I'm not a developer, but it seems to me that, in order to have all of the editing powers of the full app, it would essentially have to be the full app on the USB (which seems complicated). If you want it to work on multiple platforms, that's an additional challenge! I hope I'm not misunderstanding.

Nevertheless, it is an intriguing suggestion! :)

• RichardPayne
    RichardPayne
    Community Member

Having it work cross platforms from a single exe is not possible unless you write it in Java. Even then I'm not completely sure.

• RunInCircles
    RunInCircles
    Community Member

The original description is a little hard to follow.
    If I read this correctly, its about using a thumb drive as a VPN key?

I’ve wondered the same thing.

However, the thumb drive then requires a password key, or would be 1 password wide open, correct?

Also in the news recently:
    Considering all the coverage recently about USB being inherently vulnerable , this probably undermines the security features 1 password provides. Use of off-the-shelf thumb drives - especially the bargain basement discount ones which people sometimes buy at the checkout counter, could be compromised - or become easily compromised just for plugging into a computer.

• RichardPayne
    RichardPayne
    Community Member

@RunInCircles‌ in what way are they vulnerable?

• jpartain89
    jpartain89