Why is 1Password so regimented?

bobra
bobra
Community Member

Hi all

I'm new to 1Password and new to the forum. I'm running 1Password on my IOS devices and on a Macbook. I've migrated from eWallet, primarily attracted by the hype around 1Password but also because I've become jaded with the clunky synchronisation delivered by eWallet.

So, as a newbie, forgive me if I've got this wrong, but it appears to me that by comparison 1Password is extremely regimented in its structure. Users are restricted to predefined categories and very limited predefined entry formats. I note that there was some promise of a free form entry on this forum back in 2011 but it does not appear to have been delivered.

There is a free text "secure note" but these notes cannot be assigned to folders as far as I can tell.

For example, on the principle of wanting to keep all of my information in one place, I want to record my motor vehicles in 1Password, license no, VIN, engine no, etc but I can't find a form that comes close. I might want to record personal health data, insurance records, a myriad of "private" information but I'm locked into 17 categories and 17 corresponding templates.

Do others find this a restriction? How do you deal with it?

Cheers

Rob

Comments

• J.M
    J.M
    Community Member

Hi Rob, there is a rather lengthy discussion that is related to the subject i guess : https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/18707/feature-request-hardware-serial-numbers-category/p1

• bobra
    bobra
    Community Member

Thanks .. I think! That thread sort of starts on my topic but gets a bit sidetracked :wink:

I'll look at the software option as a work around but it's not ideal. I wouldn't have thought it too difficult to allow the user a bit more flexibility on categories at least. And why can't you include a secure note into a folder?

Cheers

• RichardPayne
    RichardPayne
    Community Member

And why can't you include a secure note into a folder?