Different master password on iOS and Mac

Drew_AG
Drew_AG
1Password Alumni
This discussion was created from comments split from: Master Password Change not reflected on other computers or mobile devices.

Comments

• ncrusty
    ncrusty
    Community Member

I'm new to 1password, so forgive me if I'm missing something. I just installed 1password on my phone, set up a master password, synced the datafile to dropbox, then installed 1password on my desktop and pulled the datafile from dropbox then set up a different master password on my desktop. All the entries inside both apps on the phone and the desktop sync just fine both ways, but the master passwords are still different. Does this indicate that you can access the datafile without having the original master password? And if not, how does it work that a different master password can be set up for a datafile originally protected with different master password? I'm sure I'm missing something obvious, it would just make me feel better to have an explanation of how this works. Thanks!

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni

Hi @ncrusty, welcome to the forums!

I moved your message to this new discussion as I think your questions are a bit different than the previous thread.

If I understand, it sounds like you set up 1Password for iOS first and synced with Dropbox. Then you setup 1Password on your Mac and synced your existing data from Dropbox. The part I don't understand is how you ended up with a different master password on each one. After syncing 1Password for Mac with Dropbox, did you use the Change Master Password option in the Security settings of 1Password? If so, that change should sync to 1Password on your iPhone as well.