1Password became too fragmented and overcomplicated

Options
pixycz
pixycz
Community Member

I've been using 1Password for 7 years, and always been happy with it. It's been easy to use, intuitive, yet powerfull. Now with each new version, the great delicious soup was seasoned with a plenty of new ingredients. Well, it's still a good soup, but I have to put some disgusting bits aside and I'm affraid it may become inedible soon…

Since the last version, many of 1Password features are either not applicable or not comprehensible for me. I don't understand them, I don't need them, I don't want them. While many actions are more complicated to do, or even are lost for good.

A simple example: the "last generated password" was removed. I often test online applications, I create a testing account (using the Password Generator), then I have to open it in other browsers (without 1Password plugin — like IE on Windows, or an embeded browser in a screenshotting application etc.). It used to be easy: I copied the last generated password, and used it for manual login. Now, it's much MUCH more complicated. Or, if the login page is kind of non-standard and 1Password stores the login info wrong, the generated password may be lost. Again, I can solve it, but in a more complicated way than just easily copy the last generated password and fix it simple… In fact, the Password Generator was removed completely from the 1Password app UI. You can't find it. Such a great feature, providing really good pronouncable passwords, and it's hidden deep in the application as a dropdown only. If I sometimes need a random password (yes, it happens for real!), I have to mimic creating a new login to access the Generator.