Installing Chrome Extension

Options
Community Member

I am new to 1 Password. I have created a master password and have opened the application and entered some data. I am now in the process of trying to install the Chrome extension. When I push the Green button a box opens up and asks if I want Password Manager and gives me the option of accepting or canceling. When I push cancel a red warning pops up and states "There was an error installing the Chrome extension. Please try again (which I have done several times) or contact us for assistance". Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Hi @7883,

I'm sorry to hear about the trouble. Could you please try installing it directly from the Chrome Web Store instead: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/1password-password-manage/aomjjhallfgjeglblehebfpbcfeobpgk

Please let me know if that works correctly for you. :)

Community Member
    Options

Jasper,

Thanks for the response. I am confused. Do I need to install Password Manager to install the Chrome Extension? Also, I don't see a way to install at the linked site you provided. I know I'm missing something.

• Hi @7883,

If it starts with 1Password: Password Manager, yes, that's the extension you need to install in Chrome. Press the blue button to install the extension in Chrome like in this screenshot:

Community Member
    Options

Thanks, It seems that I simply do not have the computer skills to execute the suggested fixes spelled out in this forum. I can get the auto fill to work on some sites but not on my credit cards, bank or Vanguard. At this point this is costing much more time and effort than any gain. Could you please refund my purchase? To the extent that I can make it work it seems like a great idea.

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @7883,