Just bought a new MacBook Air with Yosemite and can't get 1password5 to work on new computer

Options
jkeehn
jkeehn
Community Member

Hi
I just bought a new MacBookAir and am trying to download the program to my new computer, but can't get it to work.
I have 1password4 on my old MacBookAir.
Any advice?

Comments

• jkeehn
    jkeehn
    Community Member
    Options

Maybe a few more details would be helpful.

1. I downloaded the free version of 1Password to my new computer, and I now have 1password5 in my applications folder.

2. When I try to open that program it asks if I am new to 1pass or if I've used it before. I say I have used it before.

3. It asks where I saved my data and I say on another device.

4. That take me to a screen that says "Another Device," and says I have several options, and I click on More Information, as directed.

5. That takes me to this page:
      https://guides.agilebits.com/1password-mac/4/en/topic/getting-started-again-on-a-new-different-computer

6. Where I read:
      To begin, click on Finder > Applications and then double click on the 1Password 4 icon to start 1Password.
      I am told this:
      1Password 4 will start, and display a welcome screen with an overview of 1Password 4. If you’re already familiar with the overview of 1Password 4, click Awesome! Let’s Get Started, or to continue reading either scroll down or click on one of the topics on the left to jump to that topic.

7. I click on Ipass in my applications folder (except it is 1Password5, not 4). But instead of seeing this message, as I was told:
      1Password 4 will start, and display a welcome screen with an overview of 1Password 4. If you’re already familiar with the overview of 1Password 4, click Awesome! Let’s Get Started, or to continue reading either scroll down or click on one of the topics on the left to jump to that topic.
      I go back to the screen that says "Another Device" (see #4, above).

So it is just a frustrating loop.