copied password out of 1password fails to log into dropbox

Options
ddokoto
ddokoto
Community Member

I can't login into dropbox.com from the mac. It says: " Invalid email address or password. " That's as far as I have tried in the past. Today I tried a few other things to triage the situation.
Automatically filling it the password (with 1password) on mac fails.
copying the SAME password fails on mac/yosemite.
copying the SAME password out of 1password (via dropbox) on windows 8 succeeds.
manually entering the SAME password on mac succeeds.
I've been using 1password for 4 years. I have never encountered a website where manually entering the password got a different result from copying the password from 1password. I don't have a clue at present why Dropbox is different. The major issue with 1password has been that it doesn't always recognize the password field (therefore doesn't prefill it in) and you have to copy/paste the password out of 1password into the field. Some html pages are just too complicated or don't annotate the password field in the conventional way. This is not an issue with dropbox.com as 1password instantly recognizes the right password field and inserts the password value there.
For some reason, 1password thinks the password is different. I compared the manually entered password with the stored password and all 8 visible letters are exactly the same. So I saved another 1password entry with the manually entered password. Compared the two passwords in the two 1password entries and they are exactly the same.
But when I login to dropbox using 1password with the (new) 2nd entry, it succeeds. I have no idea what's going on. The password looks the same in all cases, even compared zero and the letter 'O', the only ambiguous character. The password had been automatically generated by 1password in the beginning.

Comments

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @ddokoto,