How to delete primary vault and create a new one

Options
VinZ
VinZ
Community Member

Hi,

I'm quite new with 1Password (downloaded yesterday) on Mac 10.10.4 and I have one BIG problem that I couldn't solve:

I have created for the first time a vault with a terrible master key which I forgot. I've put some information in this vault but nothing really important. So I want to start from scratch again. But I can't find a way to delete the vault the delete button is greyed and same problem to create a new vault the line in the menu is greyed.
And I've seen in the forum a recipe to have get rid of the grey line for the new vault button by clicking on ctrl etc.. but it didn't work.

If you can help me, I will really appreciate.

Best regards from France,
VinZ

1Password Version: 5.3
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS 10.10.4
Sync Type: Icloud

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options

Have a look at this knowledge base article:

How do I start over with an empty vault?

As you're using iCloud to sync your 1P data you may find this one helpful too:

How to reset iCloud data and start fresh

Although you said there was nothing really important in 1P if you do want to save anything you could export the selected items as a 1pif file and then re-import them once you have started over. If you do that note that it's important securely to delete the 1pif file after you've imported as the file is not encrypted.

Stephen

• VinZ
    VinZ
    Community Member
    Options

Thank you very much

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @VinZ,

I'm glad Stephen was able to help you out with that! Hopefully you're all set, but if you have trouble starting over with a new vault or have any questions about that, please let us know - we're always happy to help! :)

• fernanda_vaz
    fernanda_vaz
    Community Member
    Options