Is it still possible to get a version compatible with iOS 8.4?

jchw
jchw
Community Member

I am brand new to 1Password, coming as a long-time user of competitor software. After a few moments with the desktop versions I decided to plunge and buy a license for Mac and Windows.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to install it on my phone. I have it running iOS 8.4.0 with no intent to upgrade for a while for technical reasons. (I.E., I would actually have to drop 1Password versus updating my phone.)

I like what I've seen so far, but there's a whole lot of seemingly large deal breakers going on. While I can understand that a security product may require the latest operating system updates, there's a lot of surprising stuff w.r.t. 1Password itself. I get that one person on a forum isn't going to cause a shift in a company's profit model, but in a modern world it feels like I was punished for using multiple operating systems by having to eat a larger license cost. It's been a long time since I've had to pay multiple times to use a single piece of software on essentially the same platform (I just don't consider booting into a different partition to mean an additional cost.)

And if a Linux version were to be released soon, I'd certainly have to pay again. But that seems unlikely because the request has been shoved under the rug for a few years now, based on cursory web searches. For a piece of software that becomes mandatory pretty much automatically by using it, not supporting Linux is basically locking your users from using Linux in any capacity as well as Linux users from using your software in any capacity. It sucks, especially if you use Linux for work.

But iOS is a supported operating system and I can't even pay again to be able to use it. I can't seem to find IPA files for previous versions (and I'm not looking for a 'cracked' release.) Nothing is available on iTunes other than the version requiring iOS 9. There's not much mention other than angry forum posters.