How can I delete an old iCloud vault for which I don't remember the password?

Options
david_fs
david_fs
Community Member

I am new to 1Password and created a vault on iCloud a few weeks ago and don't remember the password. I have created a new vault and added info in it on my iPhone but when I try to sync it to iCloud it wants to merge data with the old vault but won't do it without the old password. So how can I delete the old vault and get on with the new one? Thanks for your help.

Dave

1Password Version: 6.1
Extension Version: ?
OS Version: iOS 9.1
Sync Type: Icloud
Referrer: ug:ios/existing-teams, ug:ios/using-1password, ug:ios/creating-items, ug:ios/create-a-login-item, kb:icloud-error-data-not-found

Comments

• Hi @david_fs ,

You can delete the iCloud vault by going to Settings->Advanced, scrolling down to the bottom and tapping Erase iCloud Data. Please make sure you want to do this, as this action can not be undone.

Regards,
    Kevin

• Nic_Knudsen
    Nic_Knudsen
    Community Member
    Options

Hi Kevin,

I'm having the same issue. I don't see Settings->Advanced on my iPhone. What other option do I have to delete first vault? I can't merge them since I don't remember the password.

Thanks,
    Nicole

• Ben
    Options

Hi Nicole (@Nic_Knudsen),

You can find a full set of instructions for deleting iCloud data here:

Mac: https://support.1password.com/icloud-remove-data/mac.html
    iOS: https://support.1password.com/icloud-remove-data/ios.html

Please note that on iOS you may need to create a new empty vault, if prompted, before you'll be able to access these settings. I hope that helps. Should you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to ask. Thanks!

Ben

• martinn16
    martinn16
    Community Member
    Options

When I do this on mac I get the error "The operation couldn’t be completed. (CKErrorDomain error 9.)"