Password Generator - problems.

Options
dhlowe
dhlowe
Community Member

Hello. I am new to 1Password. I have been trying to use it to strengthen my Banking passwords. For example, on my Bank's webpage - Settings - Change Password I am asked to insert my Existing Password. This is inserted automatically by either 1Password or iCloud Keychain - I don't know which. I am then asked to input my new Password. When I open the 1Password Dialogue Box and press 'Generate New Password' it changes the Existing Password. I cannot solve this problem even with the help of your relevant chapter in your Help section.
I am using an iPad with IOS 9.2.1
Thank you.

Comments

• Winnie
    Winnie
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @dhlowe,

welcome to the 1Password forum :) Great to hear you want to use stronger and generated passwords!

To solve your problem with the new password being filled in the wrong place I'd suggest to first locate the old password for your bank account. In case it is not yet saved in 1Password please create login. To do this please follow our guide to Create a new Login item in Safari.