Keyboard shortcut not working [FIXED]

2»

Comments

  • bswinsbswins Agile Customer Care
    edited August 2011
    Hey Matt,

    I just wanted to reply to let you know that I passed your message along to Dave. I will let him or another one of our code experts respond with the next requested action.

    In the interim, it will be helpful to know whether you are still experiencing this behavior running our most current releases of 1Password and the Safari extension, which, as of this writing, are 3.7.2 (build 31099) and 3.7.b10, respectively.

    Thank you for your patience and continued efforts to help us troubleshoot this issue. Your input is incredibly valuable, and I am confident that your willingness to help us will eventually help a lot of other users.

    Cheers!

    Brandt
  • mattlmattl Junior Member
    edited August 2011
    Yes, CMD-\ keyboard shortcut still not working with latest extension and 1P non-beta release.
  • bswinsbswins Agile Customer Care
    mattl wrote:

    Yes, CMD-\ keyboard shortcut still not working with latest extension and 1P non-beta release.


    Thanks for the update Matt. I can't wait to find out the solution to this one. :)

  • mattlmattl Junior Member
    bswins wrote:

    Thanks for the update Matt. I can't wait to find out the solution to this one. :)


    One other thing I have noticed is that the extension does not auto lock with the 1P application. The extension remains unlocked at all times after unlocking it.
  • khadkhad Social Choreographer

    Team Member
    edited August 2011
    Does the locking issue persist if you update to 1Password 3.7.2 and version 3.7.b10 of the Safari extension? Please also restart the agent form within 1Password (Help > Troubleshooting > Restart Agent).
  • mattlmattl Junior Member
    khad wrote:

    Does the locking issue persist if you update to 1Password 3.7.2 and version 3.7.b10 of the Safari extension? Please also restart the agent form within 1Password (Help > Troubleshooting > Restart Agent).


    Yes, updated to these versions and no difference after restarting the agent.
  • dtearedteare Agile Founder

    Team Member
    mattl wrote:

    Yes, updated to these versions and no difference after restarting the agent.


    Hi Matt,

    First, thank you for your patience as we investigated this problem. We found a situation where this could happen; Scott was having the exact same issue (it was related to Fast User Switching) and we fixed the problem today. We also updated several sections of code that could have also been the culprit.

    I hate to sound like a broken record but it would be awesome if you could update to the latest versions and see if they fix your issue. As of this writing, the Safari extension is at 3.7.b13 and the main 1Password app version is 3.7.5 beta 3. Please be sure to enable betas in the 1Password > Preferences > Updates window if you haven't already.

    Please let us know how it turns out. Thanks!
  • racerx1racerx1 Junior Member
    Keyboard shortcut is no longer working for me after installing the latest 1Password beta and associated extension. I am running Lion 10.7, Chrome 13.0.782.109 with extension 3.6.3.30953, and 1Password 3.7.5.BETA-3 (build 31103). I also tried cmd-option-Q to quit the browser and 1Password and it still won't work.

    Thanks!
  • The keyboard extension is also not working for me today. I'm running program and extensions up to date. 1Password is 3.7.2 and extension is 3.7.b13. I'm running Mac OS x Lion and using Safari 5.1. Please help. Thank you.
  • mattlmattl Junior Member
    edited August 2011
    dteare wrote:

    Hi Matt,

    First, thank you for your patience as we investigated this problem. We found a situation where this could happen; Scott was having the exact same issue (it was related to Fast User Switching) and we fixed the problem today. We also updated several sections of code that could have also been the culprit.

    I hate to sound like a broken record but it would be awesome if you could update to the latest versions and see if they fix your issue. As of this writing, the Safari extension is at 3.7.b13 and the main 1Password app version is 3.7.5 beta 3. Please be sure to enable betas in the 1Password > Preferences > Updates window if you haven't already.

    Please let us know how it turns out. Thanks!


    Updated to these versions, still no change. Now when I try to click on the toolbar extension, I get a message in the popover that says "Error, Agent Not Connected" with a blue Troubleshoot, that does nothing when I click on it. Now the keyboard shortcut doesn't work and the extension doesn't work at all, so I'm left with no way to fill in passwords at all. 1P is now nonfunctional other than by copy and paste.

    Here its the 1PasswordAgent.log in case it helps.

    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| == Opening log session ==
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Starting 1PasswordAgent 3.7.5.BETA-3 #31103 built Aug 8 2011 17:03:18
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Trying to load Localizable.strings [English] from the main bundle
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Cannot find English version, using English localization for Localizable.strings
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Initializing AGHtmlDatabase object with path 'file://localhost/Users/matt/Dropbox/1Password.agilekeychain/'.
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| watchProfile
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| reloadAllObjects
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Database (AGHtmlDatabase:file://localhost/Users/matt/Dropbox/1Password.agilekeychain/) load time [Cache]: 0.060+0.003 (936 objects)
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| [SES] Using extension database: '/Users/matt/Library/Safari/Databases/safari-extension_com.agilebits.onepassword-safari-2bua8c4s2c_0/0000000000000012.db'
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| [SES] 1Password locked
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| Loaded '/Users/matt/Library/Application Support/1Password/Extensions/31103/Resources/Rules/DomainRules.js'
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:11 2011| [AES] Starting JSE server on port 10191
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:14 2011| [SES] Using extension database: '/Users/matt/Library/Safari/Databases/safari-extension_com.agilebits.onepassword-safari-2bua8c4s2c_0/0000000000000012.db'
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:14 2011| [SES] Sync started ...
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:14 2011| [SES] Unsupported version of Safari extension database (5), we only support database version (4).
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:14 2011| [SES] Sync completed in 1 ms
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:34 2011| [SES] Using extension database: '/Users/matt/Library/Safari/Databases/safari-extension_com.agilebits.onepassword-safari-2bua8c4s2c_0/0000000000000012.db'
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:34 2011| [SES] Sync started ...
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:34 2011| [SES] Unsupported version of Safari extension database (5), we only support database version (4).
    [31103] Mon Aug 8 20:56:34 2011| [SES] Sync completed in 1 ms
  • dtearedteare Agile Founder

    Team Member
    mattl wrote:

    Updated to these versions, still no change. Now when I try to click on the toolbar extension, I get a message in the popover that says "Error, Agent Not Connected" with a blue Troubleshoot, that does nothing when I click on it. Now the keyboard shortcut doesn't work and the extension doesn't work at all, so I'm left with no way to fill in passwords at all. 1P is now nonfunctional other than by copy and paste.


    Oh wow! I'm so sorry; this was completely unexpected!

    I'm sending you a Private Message immediately after posting this. Please check your inbox.
  • dtearedteare Agile Founder

    Team Member
    edited August 2011
    I reviewed Matt's diagnostics and I think I know what the issue is. Matt is verifying now.

    For those following along at home, Matt was using Fast User Switching. Each account had 1Password installed, so 2 1PasswordAgent processes were running, one in each account. The old version of 1Password did not handle this properly; it was fixed in 3.7.5 Beta 3.

    Matt had installed 3.7.5 Beta 3 and restarted 1Password in one account, but 1Password needs to be restarted all accounts. Even if the accounts are sharing the same copy of 1Password, 1Password needs to be restarted in all accounts so that the 1PasswordAgent can be properly updated.

    If you're experiencing this problem, restart 1Password in all your accounts, then when you switch back to your main account, restart Safari. Restarting Safari is important so it can connect to the proper agent.

    I hope that helps. Please let us know how it turns out.

    proven-solution-20110803-121213.png
    Edit by AgileBits: This is a proven solution.
  • racerx1racerx1 Junior Member
    I downgraded from 1Password 3.7.5.BETA-3 (build 31103) to Version 3.7.2 (build 31099) and it restored keyboard shortcuts. Please note that I am using Google's Chrome as my browser -- not Safari.

    Thanks!
  • mattlmattl Junior Member
    dteare wrote:

    I reviewed Matt's diagnostics and I think I know what the issue is. Matt is verifying now.

    For those following along at home, Matt was using Fast User Switching. Each account had 1Password installed, so 2 1PasswordAgent processes were running, one in each account. The old version of 1Password did not handle this properly; it was fixed in 3.7.5 Beta 3.

    Matt had installed 3.7.5 Beta 3 and restarted 1Password in one account, but 1Password needs to be restarted all accounts. Even if the accounts are sharing the same copy of 1Password, 1Password needs to be restarted in all accounts so that the 1PasswordAgent can be properly updated.

    If you're experiencing this problem, restart 1Password in all your accounts, then when you switch back to your main account, restart Safari. Restarting Safari is important so it can connect to the proper agent.

    I hope that helps. Please let us know how it turns out.


    It took a while using Screen Sharing from work onto the home iMac, but this fixed it! I updated to the latest 3.75b4 version of 1P and 3.7b14 of the extension, restarted the 1P Agent on the other user's account, restarted the Agent on my own account after closing Safari with cmd-opt-Q and all is now good.

    Thanks so much for the diligent troubleshooting and attention. 1P is one of the most valuable pieces of software I use.

    Matt
  • dtearedteare Agile Founder

    Team Member
    Awesome! Thanks for the update, Matt!

    Thanks again for all your patience and helping us find this issue.
This discussion has been closed.