How does a vault manager edit permissions for members?

jesslee
jesslee
Community Member

I'm an admin, so I can't figure out how this works! But I have a teammate who manages two vaults. She can add/remove people just fine, but cannot adjust their permissions (read only, read/write, etc). She doesn't have access to the Admin Console. I dug up somewhere that she might need to be part of the Vault Managers group, but I don't seem to have the option to add her to that group (it doesn't exist as far as I can tell) or know how to create that group (if that's even something I could do). Any ideas? I feel like I may be missing something fairly obvious. Any help is welcome, thanks!

1Password Version: 6.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.11.3
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@jesslee: Sorry for the confusion! Vault managers are setup per-vault (rather than being a special group, since you might not want them managing all the vaults!) Just follow this guide:

Promote a user to vault manager (Teams/Families)

Now, if this is something that they need to be able to do globally, then you may want to consider making them an Admin as well. Otherwise setting their permissions on individual vaults to allow them to Manage it will work.

I hope this helps. Be sure to let us know if you have any other questions! :)

• jesslee
    jesslee
    Community Member

Great, thanks for answering! This is helpful, but still doesn't answer the question of how she can go about changing permissions for people who have access to the vaults she manages. Again, she can add and remove people no problem, but can't figure out how to adjust their permissions (say from read/write to read only). As an Admin, I see that function via the gear next to someone's name in the Admin Console, but she doesn't have access to that of course since she isn't an admin. Thanks again for your help, @brenty!