1Password crashes when connecting to 1Password mini.

Options
brianbolton
brianbolton
Community Member

After 1Password crashes I can then open it back up and it works fine. This happens about once a day and since I run 1Password on multiple computers, I end up seeing this error multiple times a day. I really love 1Password and I've been using it since 2010. I've convinced many people to buy this product, but lately it's been behaving badly. Can you help me out? Thanks

I'm looking for a long term fix. I've tried a few things. Restart computer. Reinstall 1Password. I've made sure that 1Password.app is in Applications folder.

I also ran this terminal command.
xattr -d -r -s com.apple.quarantine /Applications/1Password 6.app

I had to modify the command somewhat since I have 1Password.app and not 1Password 6.app. I got many of these errors in terminal. Here's a sample:

xattr: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/Applications/1Password.app/Contents/Resources'
xattr: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/Applications/1Password.app/Contents'
xattr: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/Applications/1Password.app'

What should I do next? Run command as sudo?

1Password Version: 6.2.1
Extension Version: 4.5.5
OS Version: 10.11.4
Sync Type: dropbox
Referrer: kb:error-connect-to-mini

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @brianbolton,

The xattr command is only for a very specific issue where 1Password wouldn't open and to the best of my knowledge only affected the AgileBits Store version of 1Password. By the sounds of it you're saying that 1Password will open and you can use it, it's just that it's crashing on a regular basis.

What we need to do is establish why 1Password is crashing.