Changing account key / master password for Families

bgs264
bgs264
Community Member
edited July 2016 in Families

Apologies - This relates to Families, not Teams - I cannot change the board I've posted in though.

Hello

I have my Account Key and my Master Password for my account.
However, what if I want to change them?

I have lost my Emergency Kit and so in theory I've compromised my account.

Looking through the forums all I can see is a way to do this with Mac or iOS.
I have neither - I use the web, Windows and Android.

If it cannot be done then I need to get my account securely deleted so that the passwords within aren't compromised.

In the meantime, I will now have to go and change my password on all the services I've saved and not store them in 1password, what a shame.

Thanks
Ben

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Pilar
    Pilar
    1Password Alumni

Hi @bgs264

I'm sorry to hear that you've lost your Emergency Kit, and that it wasn't easier for you to find the information on how to change it online. You can definitely change it on the web interface if you have access to it. Just log into your account on your browser and go to your family name in the upper right corner and click on My Profile. There you'll be able to click on Change Master Password in sign in details. You can generate a new Emergency Kit there too. You only need to click on the blue circle with a pencil by the side of your current Account Key.

Please let us know how this goes for you and if there's anything else that we can help you with :chuffed:

• bgs264
    bgs264
    Community Member

Hi @Pilar

Thank you for your reply. I must admit I didn't look around the web application - I was more using Google to try and find out how to do it - and mostly it brings back threads saying you can only do it with iOS and Mac - Not the web or Android.