Does 1Password work on a Chromebook / Chrome OS?

Options

Comments

• Jon_MN
    Jon_MN
    Community Member
    Options

I work in IT within a public school system. Chromebook use growth is exponential in the k12 sector. Often at the expense of Windows and Apple share. Both IOS and MacOS systems are seeing replacement by Chrome OS devices within schools and a growing trend within many businesses!

I really believe that 1Password is missing out on a substantial user base/platform by not actively developing for the ChromeOS.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/3025976/hardware/chromebooks-are-siphoning-market-share-from-windows-pcs.html

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@Jon_MN: Certainly it's still very low relative to other platforms, but it will be interesting to see if this trend continues. Cheers! :)

• craig_ibbotson
    craig_ibbotson
    Community Member
    Options

Hi, I switched to the 1Password subscription model, which is useful on my Chromebox since it lets me access all my passwords via the web. However, I can't figure out how to generate a new password on my chromebox - is there any way via the web app to generate a new password when I need one?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@craig_ibbotson: Yep! Just click the little "key" icon over to the right of the password field in the login item:

I hope this helps. Be sure to let me know if you have any other questions! :)

• leggett
    leggett
    Community Member
    Options

@brenty Thanks for being upfront and keeping us up to date. Just wanted to add my name to the list of people that would love support on ChromeOS. I'd be happy with even just a read-only version that synced with Dropbox or perhaps Google Drive?

If you ever did support it in some way, do you think it would require a monthly subscription or would it be like the MacOS app where I can buy it once?