Please bring back the PIN.

Options
skyskidoo
skyskidoo
Community Member

Hi everybody! I've set up a 1 password account. I use it on an iPhone 6s, an iPad Air 2, an iPad mini 2, 2 windows computers and a Mac5k. My PIN code works for some reason, on all but the Mac 5k. (It was working on the Mac5k until I reinstalled a clean version of the new Mac OS). I have an 11 digit master password that I don't want to type 25 times a day and I don't want to turn 1password security on my Mac off either. Otherwise why not just put my logins into the Notes app? I have an idea that a glitch is enabling my PIN to work on my fingerprint devices but I'm not sure. Anyway, could a PIN feature be brought back for all versions or do I need to go to a 4 digit Master Password??

1Password Version: 6.3.3
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 10.12
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• Pilar
    Pilar
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @skyskidoo

Thank you for taking some time to write to us and letting us know what you'd like to see in 1Password. It's sometimes hard to find a good balance between things being practical and them being secure. On your mobile devices you can use your pin or even better fingerprint and it makes using 1Password so much easier! However on desktop typing the full password is still the best approach. I've found that since I moved into having a Diceware Master Password it's so much easier to type it as often as I need. Have you tried doing something like this? :chuffed:

• skyskidoo
    skyskidoo
    Community Member
    Options

Thanks Pilar. I'm a slow typer so I'll keep looking. The Touch ID thread here might have a solution for me.

• Pilar
    Pilar
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @skyskidoo