What does data-com.agilebits.onepassword.initial-value mean?

I'm a web developer and when i'm testing webforms that I've created i like to save those fields in 1 Password 6 so that when I test them again I can quickly fill out the forms. This works 90% of the time. But lately I've been seeing that 1Password sets the data-com.agilebits.onepassword.initial-value field in the input forms elements but doesn't actually set the input form values even though they are correctly stored in 1Password.

I think what's happening is that 1Password is also saving some hidden form elements and perhaps that is messing things up. When I click on "show webform elements" button in 1Password the values seem correct.

I've got forms that have about 10 to 15 input fields so I'd really like 1Password to help me automatically fill out the forms.

Is there a secret vulcan key board shortcut that says "Force fill out form elements no matter if it's Tuesday from 9-5 and my Aunt Jenny is on the phone".

Thanks for any help.

1Password Version: 6.3.5
Extension Version: 4.6.2.90
OS Version: OS X 10.11.6
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:data-com.agilebits.onepassword.initial-value

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hello @danshumaker,

That data attribute is to help with pages that do funky things dynamically. An example of this are a few banks that obfuscate fields before sending the login credentials. I don't confess to understand how this helps with security, only that we still want to fill when a site does something like this. This attribute is set when we collect the page data that we send to 1Password to determine what to fill and where so it happens very early on in the filling process.

Without having seen the page in question I would suspect one of two strong possibilities if filling is not happening as expected.

1. There's a bug that your form helps highlight.