The Process of updating the old passwords while entering the current one [Feature Request?]

illusion3
illusion3
Community Member

Hi,

The lovely 1password makes a very good effort to smooth out the process of updating the passwords with offering to save\update the new login:

Change your passwords and make them stronger

However the pain nowadays comes from the actual websites asking to submit the current password first, before entering the new one, thus forcing the user to manually copy the current password from 1Password first.

I am not technical at all, but if 1pass had an extra shortcut option to "Not Submit" the current login[fill only] in addition to universal always/never submit, this process would become a lot easier. Same idea with the keyboard shortcut to fill "1password generated password".

1Password Version: 5.6.2
Extension Version: 4.6.2
OS Version: OSX 10.11.6
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• mishamsk
    mishamsk
    Community Member

Great idea indeed!

• Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni

Hi @illusion3,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your idea for how we can improve the process of updating login passwords!

Just to make sure I understand what you're saying: Do you mean that you use the 1Password extension to fill your current password on the 'change password' form of a website, and because auto-submit is enabled, it tries to submit that form before you're able to enter the new password?

If so, that's likely why the 'Change your passwords and make them stronger' article suggests copying/pasting your current password (instead of having the extension try to fill it for you). By using copy/paste to do that, you can ensure the password is put into the correct field of that form, and also make sure the form won't be automatically (and prematurely) submitted.