To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Sync - Dropbox vs 1Password

Options
anthonya
anthonya
Community Member

I've been using 1Password for a few years now. I have the Windows (multiple computers) and iOS (iPhone &iPad). I have always used dropbox to sync between devices, but I'm not sure if that is the best option. I'm a little confused on differences between the 1Password and Dropbox sync. If possible, please tell what the difference between the 1Password & Dropbox sync. What do you recommend? Also, is there any future development of more third party sync options? Thank you.

1Password Version: 6.5.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Windows 7 & 10
Sync Type: dropbox

Comments

• Hi @anthonya! Thanks for using 1Password over the years. :) Dropbox has been a good sync option over the years. 1Password.com gave us some opportunities to develop really cool first-party features like:

• Quick and easy sharing. If you want to share passwords, credit cards, and other items with your friends or family, upgrade to a family account and create some vaults to share with them. You can share with your coworkers using 1Password Teams too.
    • Sign in to your account to sync. On any device, whether that's a iPhone, iPad, MacBook Android phone, or Windows computer, you can sign in to your account using your account code and Master Password in just a few seconds after installing the app.
    • Oh, and the apps are included. Since 1Password.com accounts are subscriptions, you get all the apps. So if you change to a Mac sometime down the road, just install the app and sign in and you're set.
    • Restore deleted or changed items. If a change was made to an item and it needs to be reverted, fret not. It can easily be rolled back from 1Password.com.
    • View, edit, and add items from a browser. You’ll always have access to your data on 1Password.com, even if you're away from the devices you typically use.