To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Moving from Dropbox to 1password account

Options
thedon0922
thedon0922
Community Member

I have been using 1Password on all my devices/computers for several years with dropbox sync. In the most recent email/newsletter, there is mention of 1password accounts for that. Do I need to change the way I am syncing my passwords now? Or can I continue using dropbox sync.

Also, with that, is one option more secure than the other? I want to make sure that I am using the most secure method possible.

1Password Version: 4.6
Extension Version: 4.6
OS Version: osX, Win7, OS 10.12
Sync Type: dropbox

Comments

• bdee1
    bdee1
    Community Member
    Options

I would also like to know how to move my existing vaults from dropbox to my 1Password account.

• Hey @thedon0922 and @bdee1! Accounts do have some great benefits over Dropbox. I just wrote about them in another post so give that a read if you're curious about the specifics.

Okay, got that read? I'd be happy to help you guys get started with an account if you like what you read. :) First, if you haven't already, sign up for an account. Once you have done that, save your Emergency Kit so you have a copy of your account details when you sign in to new devices. Now you can sign in to your account on your devices and migrate your data:

Move your existing 1Password data to a 1Password account

Once you migrate your data on one device, you don't need to do it again on your others. You can simply remove your old vault on those devices and start using your account for everything. Let us know how that goes! :)

• thedon0922
    thedon0922
    Community Member
    Options

@Jacob thank you for that other piece about the 1pw account. Do I qualify for an account? I don't pay monthly -- I have a single user license that I purchased a few years ago. thanks!

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@thedon0922,