If I bought 1Password Pro, am I going to have to subscribe in the future?

Comments

• @brenty, the word "forever" is conspicuous in its absence from what I actually wrote. That poor straw man never had a chance.

Look, I write software for a living, too. I understand perfectly well that this isn't marriage, 'til death do us part. But the fact the the future is uncertain and the technological landscape is filled with change somehow doesn't prevent other software vendors large and small from creating, and disclosing to their customers, product roadmaps and support plans detailing where they think they're headed in the immediate, near, and even long term. For some reason you guys are balking at that. When I turn up here expressing my concern that you're going to EOL standalone 1Password within a relatively short timeframe in favor of a SaaS offering that doesn't meet my needs, you act as if it's creepy and weird when I fail to be reassured by repeated non-reassurances -- and then get exasperated that I'm not satisfied with your inability "to offer something more definitive."

I do appreciate Steven's post, but it doesn't really help me. I care only somewhat about where you are today, and not at all about your journey over the last year. What I want to know is where you think you're going to be six months or a year from now (which is hardly the same as "forever"), so that I can make some informed choices about whether to retain 1Password as part of my tool stack. If things are going to continue much as they have, that's great, but if the cost of upgrading to 7.0 is going to be that I have to get on your subscription hamster wheel and put my passwords in the cloud, I might as well get a head start on replacing you. And if you truly, incredibly, don't have a roadmap that you can disclose to your customers, permit me to suggest that you make one, ASAP.

• edited March 2017