Recovery process when email address is unavailable?

TheDave
TheDave
Community Member

I'm exploring possible situations where a recovery might be needed. Imagine that we have a fire in the house, assume that all of our recovery kits and computers are destroyed.

I will assume that one of the 1Password admins has their phone in their pocket, or has an off-site recovery kit and therefore has their account key, so I can now get in to my own vault.

However, how would I get family member Bob into his account? As an admin, I can do a recovery, but this requires access to Bob's email account and sadly both his phone and computer were destroyed, so Bob doesn't have access to 1Password or his email account's password and 2FA code (also in 1Password). Bob took contentious note of his email address recovery codes, dutifully noting them in 1Password (which we can't access) and in the fire safe with the 1Password recovery kit, which was tragically destroyed.

Is there any way to get Bob back into his 1Password account without access to his email address or both Account Key and Password? Can I change his email address?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hey @TheDave! That's certainly an interesting scenario. Thanks for asking about it. The simple answer to what you're looking for is an off-site storage place for the Emergency Kit with the Master Password written in it. You can even put it on a USB drive somewhere, perhaps in a safety deposit box. Account recovery was built to help you recover someone's Account Key and Master Password if they lose access to them, but there are limitations like this one — the email address for their account needs to be accessible. It's a challenge we have yet to think up a solution for, perhaps because there isn't one.