To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

New 1Password.com Account/Migration

Knocka
Knocka
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years. It is installed on several Macs, an iPhone and an iPad. I synch using Dropbox. I did not, until today, have an account on 1password.com.

When I created a 1password.com account, it wanted a Master Password. But, the one I use on all my devices was too short. So, I used a different one. That's as far as I've gone.

A few questions:
1. What do I have to do now? If I want to use 1Password.com, do I have to change my Master password on devices?

1. What is the benefit of using 1password.com vs. Dropbox to sync?

Thanks.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@Knocka: First of all, I'm glad to hear that you've strengthened your Master Password! And since both it and your Secret Key are used to encrypt your 1Password.com data, you're even more secure than you'd be just by changing it. :sunglasses:

What do I have to do now? If I want to use 1Password.com, do I have to change my Master password on devices?

If you've already migrated all of your data from the local vault(s) you were syncing with Dropbox, it would be best to start over on each device with only your 1Password.com account. Just login to 1Password.com first to verify that you have everything there. Then setup 1Password with your account on each device and you're good to go!

What is the benefit of using 1password.com vs. Dropbox to sync?