1PW mini "remember search" feature behaves weirdly with multi-account sites

To reproduce

  • Have an account on "siteA"
  • Have at least 2 accounts on "siteB"
  • Press Cmd+Alt+\ to open 1PW Mini, and search for siteA.
  • Click on the browser window, to close 1PW Mini, while retaining the search.
  • Go to siteB.
  • Press Cmd+\

Expected result

1PW Mini should open, with the list of siteB accounts to select from.

Actual result

1PW Mini opens with the old search, so you need to press Esc to clear the search.


1Password Version: 6.7.BETA-5
Extension Version: 4.6.5.2
OS Version: OS X 10.12.4
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

  • Great minds think alike. I was just headed here to write up this exact issue.

    I'll add one more thing on why the expected result should be the expected result.

    Scenario
    * Have an account on "siteA"
    * Have only one accounts on "siteC"
    * Press Cmd+Alt+\ to open 1PW Mini, and search for siteA.
    * Click on the browser window, to close 1PW Mini, while retaining the search.
    * Go to siteC.
    * Press Cmd+\

    Expected result and Actual Result
    UID/PWD are automatically filled in for siteC and submitted if appropriate.

    The behavior that pento reported and that I was going to report is that Cmd+\ is the shortcut that users have been trained to use and they expect the behavior is:

    • If one UID/PWD is found for this site, fill it.
    • Else If two UID/PWDs are found for this site, present a list of options.
    • Else Open a search window

    The actual behavior currently if there is a saved search:

    • If one UID/PWD is found for this site, fill it.
    • Else Open a search window with the saved result
    • (Let the user monkey around to get the list of options for sites that have two UID/PWDs.)

    Essentially the open a search window has been moved in the hierarchy for Cmd+\ but only when there is a saved search.

    1Password Version: 6.7.BETA-5
    Extension Version: 4.6.4.b1
    OS Version: OS X 10.11.6
    Sync Type: N/A

  • ag_kevinag_kevin Junior Member

    AgileBits Team Member
    edited April 21

    Thanks for the feedback. We're still making changes to this feature, so this feedback will prove useful!

    Cheers,
    Kevin

    ref: OPM-4995

  • Also experiencing this. It's odd to see my previous search when trying to fill a different website.

  • brentybrenty

    AgileBits Team Member

    Thanks for letting us know! We'll see what we can do to improve the behaviour.

  • I experienced the same. But I think it is fixed now with 6.7.

  • rudyrudy

    AgileBits Team Member

    @ChocolateCheesecake

    it was wrapped in beta-only checks and only lasted 1 beta before we removed it. We're thinking about how the feature should work and the feedback we received both positive and negative was helpful.

    Rudy

  • My feedback is negative. :(

    It was really disturbing.

Sign In or Register to comment.