To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

syncing data across multiple devices - just set up a new account

Options

I'm totally confused. I've been using onepassword for several years on my PC - works great. I now want to make sure that I can access onepassword (and all of my data) using my ipad, iphone (and for future any other computers I have). So I went ahead and paid for an annual subscription. Now I have absolutely no idea what to do - it seems like I've got a new account and need to migrate data over which I don't want to do (I'll be absolutely lost if I lose all of the data in my existing onepassword account on my PC). The instructions just weren't very clear (at least for someone with my lack of technical know-how). Can someone please help me figure out how to make sure the subscription I just bought is associated with my existing account?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:syncing data across multiple devices

Comments

• bundtkate
    edited September 2017
    Options

Hey @williams_sarah_e, thanks for writing in! When you migrate your data to a new 1Password account, it doesn't remove it from your PC, so it'll be there for you throughout the whole process. Promise. Since you mentioned you're on a PC, I presume you're using 1Password 4 for Windows. If you're not, just stop here and let me know. If you are using 1Password 4, I can walk you through and your data will stay available in 1Password 4 the entire time until we confirm it has moved over. Here's what you'll need to do:

1. Install 1Password 6 for Windows from here and sign in to your account. Keep 1Password 6 open.