Keeping all vaults in sync

Family Plan. Two members. Each has a private vault. One shared vault. Is there any way to keep all three vaults in sync?


1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

  • LarsLars Junior Member

    Team Member

    @Steve_H Syncing with 1password.com vaults is automatic. All instances of 1Password where you're signed into your account should have the same data in each vault as other devices signed into the same account.

    They will NOT have the same data as one another - in other words, your Private vault will not sync with the other person's Private vault, because these are two different data-sets, decrypted by two different encryption keys. The Shared vault can be accessed by either of you, but it too will not "sync" with either of your Private vaults because it is a separate vault.

  • OK, I think I understand. The private vaults cannot be synced in any way, the shared vaults will stay in sync. So, what would be the setup to eliminate the private vaults and only use the shared vault. In other words, make the shared vault the default.

  • BenBen AWS Team

    Team Member

    The Private vault isn’t optional — it cannot be removed. But you can change the All Vaults view so that it doesn’t appear, and items are saved to the Shared vault by default. Just be aware anyone you invite to your 1Password Families account will by default have access to the Shared vault.

    How exactly to accomplish the above depends on which device you’re using but for example on iOS (iPhone/iPad/etc) the options are under 1Password > Settings > Vaults > All Vaults.

    Thanks.

    Ben

  • edited December 2017

    How about if I delete all the entries in the private vault? Will the entries stay in the shared? That way everything gets done in shared.

  • LarsLars Junior Member

    Team Member

    @Steve_H if the entries in your Private vault are items that a) you want to keep and b) are not also in the Shared vault yet, then you'll need to use these instructions to transfer them over from Private to Shared. Of course, if the items in Private are unnecessary, then yes -- feel free to delete them.

  • Thanks, just trying to follow the KISS principle.

  • LarsLars Junior Member

    Team Member

    @Steve_H Always a good idea, especially when you're new to something. Let us know if there's anything else we can do for you. :)

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file