Do I need to keep Dropbox sync turned on if I just bought a 1password.com subscription?

Options
rubysue
rubysue
Community Member
edited February 2018 in Mac

I've had 1password since 2011 and been through all of the requisite "new apps," "upgrades" etc. I run into trouble periodically because moving from the one-time license to a subscription etc. is a little clunky.

Recently I couldn't find a chunk of my passwords on one of my two laptops and googled for an answer. I got to this page https://support.1password.com/dropbox-troubleshooting/ that says that Dropbox is unreliable and that I should sign up for an account. Done.

Again, it's all very clunky and disconcerting. I have a new master password that I sign into the website and iOS app, but the master password on the OSX app is still the old one. Soooo...

Now in my 1password OSX app, can I turn off Dropbox sync? Even though it is turned on, I am having conflicts and missing passwords accross devices. If not, why is there even an option to have it turned on if you're using a subscription?

Aaaaand, on top of all that, now all these duplicates!!! https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/comment/413257/#Comment_413257

Is there some way to clean all of this up? Perhaps with a time machine back up? It's seriously a nightmare. I'd rather uninstall everything and rebuild my library from scratch than have hundreds of duplicate and dysfunctional passwords on all my devices.

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@rubysue

I got to this page https://support.1password.com/dropbox-troubleshooting/ that says that Dropbox is unreliable and that I should sign up for an account.