Creating new Logins, workflow not very smooth?

Options
neonb
neonb
Community Member
edited March 2018 in 1Password in the Browser

Hi! A newbie here.

Creating new login details seems more difficult to me than it should. There are two (I think) different ways to accomplish that, but each one has some drawbacks.

So, I'm on the sign up page of some new site, and I...
1. Open the app (no keyboard shortcut), create new Login, copy & paste details, finish signing up. Requires switching between apps, and typing the URL manually.
2. Open the password generator from browser extension (no keyboard shortcut), copy & paste password, finish signing up, auto-save new Login. Now there's an extra Password entry from the generator that I have to delete. And if the password didn't pass requirements and I have to generate another one, there are two extra entries.

Is this how it's supposed to be? Is there a better workflow?

The first option would be a bit better if the Windows app didn't take 3 seconds for both opening an entry for creation/editing and saving.

And by the way, the auto-saved website URLs could have the subdomains automatically stripped for better recognition on sites with many subdomains. Or the suggestions could ignore the subdomains when looking for URL matches. Or another solution to the same effect.

EDIT:
In case you're wondering how I think it should go, something like this:

• Use keyboard shortcut to open the Save new Login dialog, includes a password generator like the app
  • Copy & paste details (dialog doesn't close), finish signing up
  • Click "Save" in the dialog to save the new Login

I understand this is quite different from how the tools are built right now, but I'm also pretty confident that something like that would take the least time and effort from the user. :) As a slightly simpler alternative, just a keyboard shortcut to open the app's Login creation with some details like the URL prefilled would work.

1Password Version: 6.8.496