What sort of protections do we have if 1Password is hacked? Can our vaults be decrypted?

tx2005
tx2005
Community Member

So I'm pretty new to password managers and I settled in on 1Password after researching many options. Last night I came across some discussions from privacy/security conscious people, and many said that solutions like 1Password and LastPass have serious security flaws (I guess due to our vaults being stored in the cloud).

Can anybody here give me some comfort to know my data is safe, even in the worse case scenario of a hack here at 1Password? What sort of protections do we have to ensure our Master passwords and vaults are safe? Also, doesn't having 2FA set up with your 1Password account also provide additional security?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @tx2005,

That's a great question. One that I'm going to have trouble not getting into the weeds trying to answer... so I'm going to try to keep it relatively high level and please feel free to ask for more details on any points that I mention.

To put it bluntly: we assume that 1Password one day will be hacked. That may come as a shock to you, but it's important that we think that way. Don't get me wrong, we'll work really damn hard to avoid that, but when designing 1Password we have to keep this in mind.