Passwords and Old People

Options
Buadhai
Buadhai
Community Member

With 1Password 6 I had an easy-to-remember and easy-to-type 8 character password that would be very hard to guess.

When I subscribed to 1Password I was required to use a Master Password that had at least ten characters. I let the software choose one for me. It's long, but reasonable. Four English words/abbreviations with a common separator.

Trouble is, I can't remember it. I'm old now and my brain, especially the memory part, doesn't work as well as it once did. I just can't remember that Master Password. For a while I was retrieving my 1Password Emergency Kit from its safe location. But that was a time-consuming PITA.

Now I have done the stupidest thing of all: I have my Master Password written down on a sheet of paper sitting on the desk in front of me.

There must be a better way.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

One thing is that you are a subscriber, which means that you have a secret key that you don't need to remember but that makes weak passwords not as bad as they would otherwise be.

Partly the solution depends on what your memory is like and who else has access to your computer, if anyone. "To be or not to be, that is the question" would not be a good password, nor would tbontbtitiq. But there might be a very obscure quotation that you could easily remember. And perhaps you could add your mother's date of birth to such a quotation.

Really, the best thing is to have a fairly long master password that you can easily remember, and what you can easily remember is up to you.

I'm probably older than you, but currently don't have memory problems.

• Buadhai
    Buadhai
    Community Member
    Options

Thank you.