Chrome - Auto Fill does not work. I tried almost everything?

Options

Hey. I just bought 1password, and imported my passwords from LastPass (goodbye). I am happy so far, it's a quite powerful tool. Only thing is that I couldn't make auto fill feature work on Chrome, and this started to be annoying because as a software developer, I am willing to save time with the auto fill feature.

What I did so far:

• Enable auto fill feature from the app itself by choosing a folder for the script.
  • Reinstall the extension

No help, it's not working. What should I try next? I read everything in the forum but nothing helped.

Thanks,
Emin.

1Password Version: 7.0.4
Extension Version: 4.7.1.90
OS Version: OS X 10.12.6
Sync Type: 1Password

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hello @ebsaral,

So just before we delve into the troubleshooting it will pay to ensure that we're using the same definitions and not causing each other confusion by using the same term in different ways.

We don't use the phrase auto-fill with 1Password because all filling must be initiated by the user, even with open-and-fill, it's the chaining of two operations for convenience but invoked by the user. We make the distinction because some browsers or other password managers will fill a page automatically without the user specifying so. We consider this a security weakness and so all filling must be initiated by the user.

1. We have filling the current page e.g. the ⌘\ keyboard shortcut.
    2. We have open-and-fill where we open the URL stored in the Login item and then when that page is loaded we attempt to fill. As you can imagine this does require the page directly loads a sign-in form.