To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

Secret Key recovery

Options
This discussion was created from comments split from: How to recover my Secret Key.

Comments

• fhqreufqi
    fhqreufqi
    Community Member
    edited June 2018
    Options

so you guys mean once users lost secret key, they have to buy new one or, to become membership from the beginning?
    I bought 1password from Appstore, and I never received secret key. Just I've been using for 2 yrs or more on localhost.
    Agilebits doesn't have even one recovery system at all just in case users lost their 'secret key' except 'emergency kid'?
    I need secret key to get 'Emergency Kid'. You all recommend with knowing it right?

• danco
    danco
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

The Secret Key is part of the membership subscription. It is generated during the setup process and you are very strongly advised to print out the Emergency Kit which contains it

I you have the old-style licence (quite likely if you have been using 1PW for more than two years) you don't have a Secret Key.

No, by design AgileBits don't have a recovery system. Fundamentally, this is a security risk. If they could do recovery, they could be forced by government action to provide ways of getting hold of your data (or there would be a risk of hacking). It was a security decision on their part, which was a reason many of us chose 1PW rather than any of the other password managers, some of which have been hacked. But it does have its downsides, there's no way out if you forget your Master Password (or Secret Key, if you subscribe).

• Jacob
    Options