1Password 6 for Mac incompatible with new Brave browser releases

2»

Comments

• AAK23
    AAK23
    Community Member

You make an awful lot of assumptions in your comment about my purchases and upgrades over the years.

I’ve been using 1Password since 2008. I purchased both a Mac and PC standalone license in addition to at least two upgrades since I started using 1Password. 1Password now wants me to spend $100 for 2 new standalone licenses (which I prefer because quite frankly I don't trust my security to your cloud) or $36/yr for your cloud service, simply for the privilege of using a safe browser built off of Chromium (Brave).

LastPass on the other hand works seamlessly with the Brave browser and costs $24/ yr to work on all my devices.

If I’m going to be forced towards using the cloud, why would I pay you a 50% premium when your developers have shown no loyalty to your customers?

It's great you choose to work with Opera and Vivaldi, but there is no reason your software should not work with Brave other than the fact your developers are unwilling to patch your software to work correctly. The fact you also preemptively refuse to update your program for Safari (iPhone) users tells me you really don’t have your customer’s best intentions in mind.

Increasing revenue in the sort term while alienating your legacy customers isn’t exactly a sound business model.

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hi @AAK23,