Why so many encryption / mac keys

johannesauer
johannesauer
Community Member
edited October 2018 in Lounge

Hi,

i studied the OPVault format and I have a question:

Why are there so many encryption keys? An attacker would never try to brute force an AES key, since this is infeasible - he would always try to crack the password by brute force or dictionary attacks. And if you have to password, you have access to everything. So the additional keys (besides the password derived AES/MAC keys) seem useless to me.

Thanks for your help,
Johannes

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited November 2018

@johannesauer: If you think that's a lot of encryption keys, wait til you see 1Password.com. ;)

I apologize as I'm not really sure how to answer without sounding a bit snarky, but I mean this sincerely: "Why are there so many encryption keys?" Because that's how many we need to secure the data efficiently! :lol: They're chained together in such a way as to maintain security and efficiency. And with 1Password.com, even more encryption keys are needed to allow for sharing, since each user needs to encrypt their own data with keys only they have access to, but also use "public" keys to encrypt shared data so that both they and others can access said shared data.