1Password says now in read-only mode after new setup

Options

Hello,

I have been using 1Password for at least 2-3 years now on iPhone and Windows for my computer. I bought it (but I seem to understand there are two types of purchased versions, either the ACCOUNT version or the one I have which I can't seem to figure out by the website...) I have just set up a new laptop and after installing 1Password, I realize it says it is in read-only mode for some reason. This never happened to me before : I switched laptops recently (both Windows 10), and my previous laptop was working like normal where I could save new passwords, generate them, etc. This version on my desktop works fine still, but the one on my laptop is read-only.

I tried using 1Password 4 as well as the newer version (App), but neither works in my favor.

Any help would be appreciated please. This is frustrating...

1Password Version: 7.2.581 and 4.6.2.626
Extension Version: 4.7.3.90
OS Version: Windows 10
Sync Type: DropBox

Comments

• spastik0827
    spastik0827
    Community Member
    Options

Found an answer. Seems the Chrome extension suggested automatically wasn't the right one. I Googled it, and I needed to install this extension instead (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/1password-extension-deskt/aomjjhallfgjeglblehebfpbcfeobpgk/related?hl=en)

For what it's worth, maybe someone at 1Password should work on making this clearer...

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@spastik0827: It's really advisable to not have both versions installed, as you'll run into trouble with both trying to connect to the browser.

I'm not at all sure what you mean by "the Chrome extension suggested automatically". That doesn't sound like it's anything to do with 1Password. But you'll find the 1Password desktop extension directly below the app on our download page:

https://1password.com/downloads/