"Dropbox Authorization Failed" error won't let me log in to my 1Password.com account

We just got a new iPad, running iOS 12.1. We have 1Password 7.2.1 installed on the device. We used Apple's automatic setup to bring in the apps and settings from an older device. Now, when I enter 1Password on this new iPad, I get an error message that pops up about every five seconds, saying "Dropbox Authorization Failed" "It appears that 1Password is no longer authorized to connect to your Dropbox account. Tap 'Authorize' to reconnect to Dropbox." "Dismiss | Authorize". This error message is preventing me from signing in to my 1Password.com 7.2.1 Family account. If I choose 'Dismiss', the error message returns in five seconds. If I choose 'Authorize', it takes me to the Dropbox login, but I no longer have my account syncing through Dropbox.

This error message pops up while I am typing in my password to connect the app to my 1Password.com account. It prevents me from finishing the typing of my password. When I hit 'Dismiss' again, it frequently erases the part of the password that I had started typing. I can't type fast enough to get my password entered, before the error message pops up again. I haven't yet been able to complete the entry of the information needed in order to get this 1Password app focused on/connected to my 1Password.com account.

It would sure be nice if there were some way to 1) Dismiss this warning message for longer than five seconds, and/or 2) Have an option in the warning message that would let me abandon my Dropbox connection to 1Password, and take me directly to the sign in for 1Password.com, leaving me free to enter the information, without the warning message reappearing.

I will keep fighting with this error message, and perhaps I will succeed in another few dozen tries. But this doesn't seem like a good user experience to me.


1Password Version: 7.2.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: iOS 12.1
Sync Type: 1password.com

Comments

  • BenBen AWS Team

    Team Member

    Hi @Nekoninda

    I’m sorry for the trouble. The best way to resolve this, considering you are no longer intending to sync with Dropbox, would be to uninstall and reinstall 1Password for iOS. From the welcome screen you’ll be able to sign into your membership.

    I hope that helps!

    Ben

  • I just had the same problem after restoring a backup to a new iPad. I do sync to DropBox. iOS 12.1. I also had 2-factor authentication with DropBox. It was an insane whack-a-mole through about 30 popups of "Dismiss | Authorize" until I eventually succeeded. A suboptimal experience.

  • brentybrenty

    Team Member

    @peterwi: Sorry to hear that. I wish that Dropbox had an automatic deauthorization for these situations, and just had you sign in again, or, better yet, just migrated the authorization to the new device (though that could have security implications). Either way, Dropbox authorization status isn't something we have control over here at 1Password, so you may want to pass along your feedback to Dropbox. Happy New Year! :)

  • ag_anaag_ana

    Team Member

    @Nekoninda

    Are you able to login to your 1Password account in a browser, rather than in a 1Password app on a different device?

  • brentybrenty

    Team Member

    To clarify again, we don't have any control over Dropbox's authentication system. If you're restoring one device from another, the authorization of the original will not work on the new one. Hence you may need to deauthorize the old one, or, at the very least, authorize the new one from scratch. Depending on exactly what was restored, it is often simplest to install a fresh copy of 1Password and/or Dropbox and do the setup from there...but of course that isn't guaranteed to work if the issue is that you need to deauthorize something first.

    Of note, if you're using Dropbox at all, you probably don't have a 1Password account, as you'd only have one if you've signed up for a 1Password membership subscription (which doesn't involve Dropbox at all).

  • brentybrenty

    Team Member

    However, after I deleted Dropbox entirely from the new device, 1Password was still telling me that I needed to enable Dropbox in order to sign in to 1Password.

    @Nekoninda: I'm sorry to hear that. It's certainly not something I've ever heard of before, and given that deleting iOS apps also delete their data, I'm not sure how iOS would be restoring anything in 1Password where it would have anything to do with Dropbox either. It's certainly worth investigating.

    Could you please clarify what you're seeing? If it's simpler, take a screenshot of this. To include it in your reply, simply click the document button in the top of the comment field, and select the file you wish to share:


     
    And please generate a diagnostics report, as the logs may shed some like as well. Just be sure not to post anything sensitive here, as this is a public forum. Send them to [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

    However, I believe it all stems from this:

    When I attempted to restore my iPad from a saved backup, some ghost of my previous 1Password standalone account, which in the past was synched with Dropbox, restarted all of the 1Password login problems.

    That makes your device restore apps and data from the backup. It isn't selective, and that's how you'd have 1Password looking for Dropbox or whatever, because that's what was in the backup. I still don't understand how deleting the app would have iOS retain that, but perhaps we can learn something and pass that onto Apple.

  • brentybrenty

    Team Member

    Ah, thanks for clarifying. I misunderstood your comments.

    I too am almost certain you would end up in the same situation if you restored your device again from a backup where you'd had 1Password setup to sync with Dropbox; 1Password will still expect to sync with Dropbox in that case. That's expected, on account of the restore of iOS restoring everything from the backup -- there's no way to pick and choose. The only thing that doesn't make sense to me is why/how 1Password (or any app) could maintain this state after removing the app itself, since iOS is designed to also remove its data. So I was thinking it might be of interest to Apple if that's happening.

    Anyway, I understand completely that you wouldn't want to intentionally get into that state again. And anyway, it would be an unnecessary time sink for you, since you aren't currently in that situation. I don't think you'll have any more issues, but if you do please get in touch and we'll investigate. Cheers! :)

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file