widget-cdn.rpxnow.com What is this?

asajinx
asajinx
Community Member

I have i've been using agilebits 1Password on my mac for a few months now and today i noticed that when i use the google chrome widget, as soon as i type in my password, the widget connects to widget-cdn.rpxnow.com

Can someone explain what this is doing? Why is the widget connecting to an external resource upon password entry?

Comments

• Hey @asajinx,

1Password does make various outside connections (ex: checks for app updates from Amazon CloudFront). Sometimes an app like LittleSnitch may report one of the CNAME records that points to the same address that AgileBits uses, since CloudFront servers are used by many companies.

See this support article for details:

1Password and Your Privacy

• asajinx
    asajinx
    Community Member

Hi @JasperP

Yes i am aware of Cloudfront CDN, LittleSnitch reports CloudFront as its own separate request though. What i would like to know is what rpxnow.com is? Is that another CDN service?

• Hey @asajinx,

From the link I posted above:

There is a peculiarity of how some firewall software, Little Snitch in particular, may report these connections. Little Snitch’s Connection Inspector will display “all names currently known to resolve to one of the IP addresses of the server.”

Given how the Cloud Front content distribution network operates, the particular cloudfront.net subdomains do not correspond to a unique IP address. Nor is an individual IP address limited to a single cloudfront subdomain. For example, one of the IP addresses associated with d13itkw33a7sus.cloudfront.net is 54.230.49.141. That same IP address may also be associated with some other cloudfront subdomain entirely unconnected to Agile Bits. That IP address may also be associated with something like example.com.