Feature Proposal: A True Global Search Field in iOS

Options
parasight
parasight
Community Member

Brace yourselves, this is a long one. I did do a search but it didn’t come up with any similar threads, so here goes.

The Introduction

Let me start off by saying that I love 1password to bits and I use it on all my devices every single day. I’ve been a big fan since forever and I plan to keep using and advocating the apps. I really don’t know what I would do without it. I also think you’re doing a fantastic job and your customer service is hands down the best I’ve come across from any software company, ever. I just need to vent a little about one topic that’s been a constant source of frustration to me. I’m a designer by trade so I guess I get worked up about these kinds of things easily.

The Problem

I really, really, reeeeally dislike the fact that in the iOS app, it takes three taps to get to the search field. I save my most frequent logins in Favorites, but for everything else it’s always “Categories -> All Items -> Tap in Search field”. Now I don’t know about you guys but I find myself repeating this process pretty much daily and I don’t quite understand why it has to be that way. I’d love if it worked just like the OS X app, which is instantly accessible and searches across all categories and takes me a fraction of a second to get my item. Even more so with the awesome (!) new menu bar app. It works like that on the iPad, more or less, in portrait mode. But when you get to landscape mode, oh, nope, it’s the three taps of doom again. Considering this is a mobile app, it should be taking equal or less taps than desktop software, not three times as many.

The Proposal